Fifty Shades of Grey

Author: EL James (Erika Leonard James)

Genre: Erotic, Fiction
Language: English
Publisher: Arrow Books
Catalog Reference: ISBN 978 00 995 799 39
Sales:Sold over 40 million copies world wide
Appreciations Received: I have chosen only a very few…
Princeton professor April Alliston:
“Though no literary masterpiece, Fifty Shades is more than parasitic fan fiction based on the recent Twilight vampire series.”
Jenny Colgan of The Guardian:
“It is jolly, eminently readable and as sweet and safe as BDSM (bondage, discipline, sadism and masochism) erotica can be without contravening the trade descriptions act” and also praised the book for being “more enjoyable” than other “literary erotic books”.
Ledger-Enquirer:
“also touches on one aspect of female existence [female submission]. And acknowledging that fact – maybe even appreciating it – shouldn’t be a cause for guilt.
The Columbus Dispatch:
“Despite the clunky prose, James does cause one to turn the page.”
Glimpse:
Fifty Shades of Grey – I didn’t know much about the book when I bought this book online from Flipkart. I naively searched for the top twenty five contemporary English Novels and it was there in the top ten. I ordered the Fifty Shades Trilogy along with The English Patient and Jane Eyre. When I received the courier I was so excited that, I shared the news in Facebook with my friends! After finishing all my assignments and projects for the day when I started reading the novel I was pretty tired and about to doze off. After a few pages my eyes were wide awake with sheer terrifying horror. Each and every page gave me utter shock of my anticipated image assassination in Facebook and I couldn’t stop cursing my foolishness! I cannot dare to think all my FaceBook friends as naive and gullible as myself. Many of them surely know what Fifty Shades of Grey is all about. The mere thought itself gave me shudders. Yet I couldn’t stop reading and admonish myself from turning a new page. That night I read till page 96. When I ultimately closed my book and went to sleep, I was both ashamed and excited at the same time. The shrewdly provoking choice of words, made me really disturbed to the very core.I truly believe that this novel has no such literary quality in itself. But the way Ms James has expressed many a hidden untold darks desires of Anastasia Steele, which is indeed appreciable. May be Ms James was able to do so because she herself is a woman. But I would strongly disagree with anyone who thinks that to be the perfect man for a woman you have to have some huge bank balance and have to be some C league personality. I hated the ever submissive attitude of Ana Steele. The way Ms James has portrayed her being always the soft one, taking any non-sense from her boyfriend or whomsoever and Katharine Kavannagh in the contrary being very loquacious about her choices and her dislikes. I hated the dialogues of Ana’s inner Goddess to the core. I personally cannot stand girls like Ana, who has no strength to stand for themselves and put their mind in words in front of the world. For me it seemed that Ms James believes some different notion from me.Pretty Controversial discussion I guess. Feeling curious enough to read the novel, then go get your copy! Happy Reading. . . 🙂
Price: I bought the whole Trilogy from Flipkart at INR 669/- (some discount offer was going on)
Leave a Reply

